fbpx Skip to main content
  (334) 347-2623


More than $64,000 in scholarships awarded to 46 Alabama students

MONTGOMERY – On Friday, Alabama Community College System Chancellor Jimmy H. Baker, college presidents, and faculty and staff recognized 46 students from across the state for their selection as 2018’s All-Alabama Academic Team. The All-Alabama Academic Team members are selected by Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society for their demonstration of academic excellence and intellectual rigor, leadership and service, and for their commitment to extending their education beyond the classroom to benefit society.

“It is a great honor to recognize these 46 outstanding students from our community colleges across the state for their commitment to excellence and their service to their communities,” Chancellor Baker said. “The individuals selected for the All-Alabama Academic Team represent our state’s best and brightest and I’m truly optimistic for our state’s future with students like these at the helm.”

The All-Alabama Academic Team recognition program was founded in 1995 to complement the All-USA Academic Team Program sponsored by USA Today, Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, and the American Association of Community Colleges.

The All-USA and All-Alabama Academic Team recognition is open to all eligible students. Students interested in applying submit applications to their local community college’s Phi Theta Kappa nominator. Applicants must have a minimum 3.5 GPA and be enrolled in a minimum of six semester credit hours.  Each nominator reviews the applications and submits nominations for consideration for the All-USA Academic Team.  Applications are scored and two individuals from each Alabama community college are selected for the All-Alabama Academic Team.

Additionally, based on application scores, 20 students from across the United States are chosen for the All-USA Academic Team. This year, Alan Dailey, III, from Bishop State Community College was selected for this special recognition. Dailey was also recognized as the New Century Transfer Pathway Scholar which is reserved for the student with the highest application score in each state.

Nominated students can also qualify for the Coca-Cola Academic Team. Students chosen for this honor are categorized as Gold, Silver or Bronze Scholars. Ten Alabama students were recognized as Coca-Cola Scholars, 2 Gold, 7 Silver, and 1 Bronze, these honors are indicated below.

In total more than $64,000 in scholarships was awarded to the recognized students. For those students intending to transfer to a four-year, in-state institution, 14 Alabama colleges and universities also provide additional scholarships for All-Alabama Academic Team members.

Esther Iyanuoluwa Adewuyi

Kwara State, Nigeria


Lillie Barksdale

Brewton, AL


Lexie Blackstone

Albertville, AL


Christian Allen Brown

Vandiver, AL


Casey Busby

Coca-Cola Academic Team – Silver Scholar

Saint Stephens, AL


Christian Callahan

Huntsville, AL


Hannah Campbell

Hartselle, AL


Peighton Carpenter

Brantley, AL


Audrey Carroll

Section, AL


Alan Dailey, III

All-USA Academic Team

New Century Pathway Scholar

Saraland, AL


Grace Defoor

Coca-Cola Academic Team – Silver Scholar

Haleyville, AL

Jenna Frye

Coca-Cola Academic Team – Bronze Scholar

Monroeville, AL

Sean Hagood

Elkmont, AL

Elizabeth Claire Henslee

Coca-Cola Academic Team – Silver Scholar

Winfield, AL


Rachel Houghton

Coca-Cola Academic Team – Silver Scholar

Attalla, AL

Cheyanna Huston-McCrea

Enterprise, AL

Challie Elizabeth Johnson

Massey, AL

Destiny Jones

Clanton, AL


Caleb Jones

Montgomery, AL


Zachary Mangum

Priceville, AL

Haley Rose McInnis

Enterprise, AL

Gavin Medley

Smiths Station, AL

Angel Moreno

Great Bend, KS

Michael Nguyen

Huntsville, AL

Diane Peeples

Coca-Cola Academic Team – Bronze Scholar

Muscle Shoals, AL

Josh Pinkard

Russellville, AL

Connor Rainey

Coca-Cola Academic Team – Gold Scholar

Prattville, AL


Lizeth Lopez Ramirez

Coca-Cola Academic Team – Silver Scholar

Crossville, AL


Terry Rice

Coca-Cola Academic Team – Silver Scholar

Sylacauga, Alabama


Katelyn Sanford

Northport, AL


Gabrielle Santora

Slocomb, AL

Elijah Smith

Valley, AL

Hunter Smith

Clanton, AL

Briania T. Smith

Coca-Cola Academic Team – Gold Scholar

Lansing, MI

Shelby Lynn Stokes

Lakeview, AL

Adam Tapley

Alexander City, AL

Dawson Reid Taylor

Lineville, AL


Rō Shā Todd

Prattville, AL

Taylor Urech

Cullman, AL


Brandon Scott Walker

Coca-Cola Academic Team – Silver Scholar

Brantley, AL


Joy Grace Webb

Albertville, AL

Ilena L. Wells

Mobile, AL

Mary Claire White

Valley Grande, AL


James Scott Williams

Baltimore, MD

Starla Williams

Red Level, AL


Tyler Elaine Yarbrough

Vance, AL

Comments are closed.

Enterprise State Community College

Your College, Your Future

Enterprise State Community College offers excellent academic, technical, and workforce training programs in order to prepare students for jobs that are in demand! Our faculty and staff are committed to the educational success of all ESCC students!